The Learning Renaissance

Part 3: What if everything we thought we knew about learning was wrong?

ace-d

2585609947_41943f8ab5_Okinawa Soba

So far I have suggested that we have lost sight of the foundations of teaching and learning and that the practices of science, those of theories and testing have come to dominate thinking and that some of the aspects of the art of teaching have been lost. I have also suggested that we go back and explore the simplest of learning models.

So let’s take that simplest of learning models for a moment.

  • I show you how to do something.
  • You watch me, ask questions and imitate.
  • I observe and evaluate what you do and provide feedback. There is recognition of competence.
  • You take note of my comments and try to improve, to become better, to master, to learn and perhaps ultimately understand.
  • I take note of your reactions and try to improve my instruction/guidance
  • We build a relationship and trust each other to do our best as either teacher…

View original post 427 more words

Leave a Reply

Contributors

