The Learning Renaissance

Support World Autism Week!

In all my years of teaching I never received any specific training in Autism Awareness. That means that I was unable to support those students in my classes who had autistic traits. I like to think that I was more responsive than most with those who did not conform or exhibited what was seen by many as ‘challenging behaviour’.

However, that is not good enough, and I have recognised from my recent research and experience in working with adults with learning disabilities that I did indeed have children with autism in my class and I was ill equipped to give the specific support they required.

That is why it is so important for teachers to be informed about Autism and related conditions which present regularly in class and ensure that students receive the appropriate help and support.

Getting involved in World Autism Awareness Week (27 March–2 April 2017) will change lives. Help raise money and awareness so that as many people as possible learn about autism.

You can begin this process by supporting World Autism Awareness Week.

world_autism_awareness

 

About educationalist04

Dazed and confused much of the time but convinced we can, as a species, do much better than this if we set our minds to being much more positive and productive towards our fellow humans.

4 comments on “Support World Autism Week!

  1. WeeOhana
    January 30, 2017

    Being a classroom assistant I think it is very beneficial for teachers to get training on all sorts of things they can experience in the classroom!

    • educationalist04
      January 30, 2017

      Not least, how to work effectively with their classroom assistant WeeOhana!

  2. WeeOhana
    January 30, 2017

    Yep! Many times I had to explain why they had unrealistic expectations on what they expected etc!

  3. educationalist04
    January 31, 2017

    That’s teachers for you WeeOhana (I speak as a former one!)

Leave a Reply

