The Learning Renaissance

Finding Your Place in the World: Ikigai

I remember when doing O levels and A levels recognising that my choices opened up future employment opportunities whilst closing down others. I felt I was destined to do a particular thing and be a particular person but I didn’t know what that pathway was and it caused me more than a few sleepless nights as a youngster.

Those who would counsel me started from the end point of professions and did not factor my passions, interests or competences into the equation. I felt they were not listening to me, or considering my input.

The Japanese concept of Ikigai captures the feeling precisely and I think this Venn diagram should be displayed in every school!

Learn more here: How To Find Your Reason For Being – Delving Into Ikigai

About educationalist04

Dazed and confused much of the time but convinced we can, as a species, do much better than this if we set our minds to being much more positive and productive towards our fellow humans.

Leave a Reply

